A lack of communication

Cinque terre
With views like these, who needs conversation anyway?

When we were back home in New Zealand earlier in the year, I caught myself explaining to someone that I didn’t really speak to my boss, because he didn’t (still doesn’t) speak English. And there in New Zealand, at that moment, it seemed like the most ridiculous thing.

In my everyday in Italy I’m accustomed to not communicating with 99.5 per cent of the people around me. And when I do have to engage with people, I’m also accustomed to not understanding much more than half of what goes on.

And it’s ok, you get used to it.

At that last job I really didn’t talk to the school director all that much. Asides from responding to a few ‘ciao’s, and ‘vuoi caffe?’s that is. Staff meetings were always a little interesting, as I could generally follow whatever topic was being discussed, but it usually wasn’t until later that I would find out if actually something had been quite tense, or if I had missed something of vague importance.

I think this must be one of the reasons why my contract wasn’t extended? I had asked at one point if we could do Italian lessons at the school, but no one seemed all that interested.

And so now I again find myself vaguely unemployed and under-occupied. And I would like to use the time to study Italian with more purpose*. Because being terrified every time I have to make a phone call or do something a little bit complicated gets tiring.

So next month I’m going to start one, maybe even two, Italian courses up in Trento. We’ve got close to eight months left in Italy, it’s time to crack that language nut before we leave. If only it was as easy as saying it.

*Sometimes ‘more purpose’ can even just be ‘watch more movies in Italian’. Because it all helps, right!

2 thoughts on “A lack of communication

  1. alexandrageorgina says:

    Hi Hayley, as a fellow Kiwi, it’s so interesting reading your blog. You’re actually based not too far from where my family live, in Comelico Superiore.

    I’m trying my best to conquer the language too, and what I have found help enormously is finding some Italian music that I genuinely like and absolutely thrashing it. Learning all the words, singing it in the shower, the works. I’ve loving ‘Gemello’ at the moment You remember these really natural phrases, even if you end up speaking like an Italian gangster and peppering ‘cazzo’ everywhere. Highly recommended! 😀

    Alexandra

    • Ah that’s a good idea, thanks for the suggestion! I may have to get more modern music tastes though, they’re currently stuck in the Italian past. Lucky San Remo is up this weekend!

Leave a Reply

