Venezia: boats, doors and windows (plus a rat and a little art)

Venice Venezia Italy boatsVenice Venezia Italy boats
I know I already shared at least some of these photos. I was sorting through them again, to send them on to the friends we were on this trip with, and I quite liked them. So, some again and some more.

Venice Venezia Italy boatsVenice Venezia Italy boatsVenice Venezia Italy boats
On this trip we went on one of the gondolas for the first time. You get a slightly different perspective when you see Venice from the water! You also get slightly more rats. Though, on this particular trip, we got a rat anyway. We were waiting at a restaurant for our table to be ready, when a man came up and informed me that a rat had just run inside. Umm….? Was my response. Because he’d thought I worked there. So he ambled off to find someone else and we kept waiting. And then we ate there anyway. is that gross?

Venice Venezia Italy boatsVenice Venezia Italy boatsVenice Venezia Italy boats
I often visit places and judge them a little to see if I would like to live there. Venice, as pretty as she is, gets a big fat nope. Not because of the rats. More because tourism seems to have completely overrun the city (which I know isn’t quite true, many locals are likely hunkered down behind barred windows – having a great time). It does have a nice collection of doors and windows, though.

Venice Venezia Italy boatsThe Venice Biennale is also on this year, and we visited just a little of it. This pavilion, and I can’t remember which country it belonged to, was likely my favourite.

One thought on “Venezia: boats, doors and windows (plus a rat and a little art)

Leave a Reply

