Venice, Florence, Verona, and Trento

VeniceJust some photos of where I/we have been lately..

First up, Venice! Friends of Matt’s were completing their European tour at the start of the summer, so we met them in Venice (before they briefly came up to Rovereto). We had a lot of rain, but I would prefer Venice in the rain to Venice in the canal-stinking heat.

Venice

VeniceViews of Venice from the water. Because we went on a Gondala, and didn’t that cost us a healthy chunk of change (but actually, shared between 4 it isn’t so bad).

Venice Biennale 2015

Venice Biennale 2015La Biennale di Venezia is on this year. We only stopped in at a couple of the exhibitions, and only the free ones that we happened to stumble upon. One year, which is unlikely to be this year, I plan to pay to get into the main pavilion. Also, it turns out I will dance badly in front of art on demand.

Venice, dogs on a boatDogs on a boat! In Venice! I think they must be having the best time.

That pig in FlorenceSometime after Venice I took a short, weekend trip to Florence, to meet up with an old school friend who was also on a European tour.

FlorenceViews of Florence across the Arno.

Michelangelo's David, Galleria dell'Accademia, FlorenceFlorenceGalleria dell'Accademia, FlorenceThe first Sunday of the month is free museum day in Italy. I took advantage of my free time to spend an hour in a queue, waiting to see Michelangelo’s original David at the Galleria dell’Accademia. The room of plaster moulds just to the left was rather awesome.

Verona, Piazza Bra, ItalySummer in Italy means a lot of people are on holiday, meaning I have a lot less students that a few months ago. One particular Wednesday I didn’t start work until 6pm. So I took myself down to Verona for a little shopping and a little sightseeing. This first view of Piazza Bra as you come up from the train station is beautiful!

PIazza delle Erbe verona, italy The buildings in Piazza delle Erbe aren’t so bad, either.

Casa di Giulietta, love locks, Verona, Italy*eye roll*

Centro Storico, Trento, ItalyIn Trento, my home away from home. I’m here close to 6 days a week for work. It’s a little bigger and definitely a little grander than Rovereto. I love the signs of previous architectural incarnations left on the sides of buildings.

Trento, ItalyThe area where we take our music lessons is a little lovely. Though the effect is somewhat ruined by the elevated road that runs through it (not pictured).

Centro storico, Trento, ItalyThis is my (almost) daily view as I walk to work.

Centro Storico, TrentoThe same street, but viewed from the other direction. It was a Friday afternoon, I assume they weren’t going very far.

Leave a Reply

