Befana

Befana epiphany Verona Veneto

Befana epiphany Verona Veneto

Tuesday last week was the epiphany (also known as the final day of the Christmas markets) which is celebrated in Italy with Befana, an old witch who flies on a broomstick and delivers candy to Italian children (and to Matt!). It was also a holiday, so I headed to Verona, where an effigy of Befana is burnt after sundown in the Veneto tradition that sees bonfires lit all around the region. Unlike last year I didn’t stay around to see the fire lit. It was cold, I had a cold, etc, so I headed back to Rovereto where we went for a final sickly sweet mulled wine at the markets.

And that should be the official end of the Christmas season, I think. Though I have neither packed away our small collection of Christmas decorations and cards, which are all sitting together as we don’t have a tree, nor have I taken down any of our 2014 calendars.

And so, I have nothing profound or anything of interest to add on what is shaping up to be an incredibly lazy Sunday. It may already be after 2pm and I may still be in my pyjamas. We got home late last night after a large and late (and delicious) dinner with friends and I am unwilling to disentangle myself from the blanket keeping me warm. Some mid afternoon movie watching may be in order. Another couple photos of Verona below.

Befana epiphany Verona Veneto

Befana epiphany Verona Veneto

Befana epiphany Verona Veneto

One thought on “Befana

Leave a Reply

