The Liebster Award

liebster award

There exists on the internet a little blogger-to-blogger award, that is used to share and promote small blogs. The Liebster Award is almost similar to a chain letter in the way it is passed forward to other bloggers that you enjoy reading, and that you want to share with others. I have received it from Anna at Kiwi girl attempting Italian and Betty at The Pumpkin’s Head (and am responding only slightly late..), thank you ladies for thinking of me!

There are some rules to receiving and sharing the Liebster Award, which go a little like this.

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog.

2. Answer the 10 questions you have been asked.

3. Nominate  your 10 favourite blogs with a readership of less than 1000, to also receive this award.

4. Create a new set of 10 questions for them to answer.

5. Share these rules.

6. Notify the blogs you have nominated with a link to your post on their blog.

There are variations of the rules a-plenty online, ranging from 5 -11 blogs and questions, so my nominees should feel free to take their pick of how many questions they want to ask and answer, and how many other blogs to share.

I have combined the 20 questions I was asked into ten, because no one wants to read that much about me. So..

1. What places are you dying to see within the next five years? … What tops your Bucket List?
I would love to travel through America – a coast-to-coast road trip through North America and backpacking with a tiny backpack through South America.

2. If you could live in another country/city that you haven’t before, where would it be?
Matt and I were making these lists the other day. I think it could be fun to live in Bristol, Berlin, Buenos Aires and/or Melbourne.

3. When did you first catch the wonderful illness that is wanderlust?
I think it came from looking through my parent’s photo album of their Contiki trip in the early 80s (or late 70s… mum?). Their photos of Europe were so different to anything I’d seen in New Zealand. For the longest time I wanted to retrace their steps and see exactly all the artifacts and sights they documented. I’m pretty sure I’ve done anything but, and am looking forward to looking through their album again when I’m home next year.

4. What’s the scariest thing that’s ever happened to you while traveling?
We were at the Remembrance Day ceremony in Amsterdam’s Dam Square in 2010 when the crowd panicked and there was this sudden swarm of everyone trying to get out. It was over again in a few seconds, but we were a little shaken so left right after as the everything continued in Dutch and we didn’t understand! It happened only a couple of years after an attempted attack on the Dutch Royal family, also on Remembrance Day, so it was possible that something could happen. There’s an article with a little more about it here.

5. What’s the best airline you’ve ever flown with so far, and why? … What’s your favourite way of travelling?
The best airline I’ve ever flown with is Air New Zealand. That said, I probably prefer to travel by train (distances not withstanding) as there’s no fuss with water bottles at security, and my ears don’t get messed up by the changes in altitude.

6. What was the best night out you ever had while traveling? … What is your most memorable travel experience?
What I’m learning about travel, but am still slow to put into practice, is that it’s more memorable and more enjoyable to travel for an event or to do something different, rather than just sight-see. Last year we went to Il Palio in Siena, Tuscany, and this year I joined some friends on a boat trip in Southern Turkey, which were both pretty amazing.

7. What quote best surmises your attitude towards travel?
I had to check out the Internet to research to hunt out quotes and picked this one: “Travel is glamorous only in retrospect.” – Paul Theroux

8. What inspired you to create your blog?
I knew I would be less employed when we arrived in Italy than I had been in New Zealand, so thought a blog could be a fun project to keep myself busy! It’s also a place where I can share my photos, because I’m pretty sure facebook isn’t that bothered.

9. What is great about the city you currently live in?
As much as I complain about its size, I do love that it is small enough that I can get around on foot or by bike. I love that there is a pizzeria and a gelateria on our street, with a bakery at one end and a funky little restaurant at the other. And its proximity to the mountains, a massive lake and major cities is also pretty cool.

10. What’s one random fact about yourself?
I can count in five languages but can only speak one (and a half).

 

My questions for the bloggers I have nominated are:

1. Why do you blog?

2. Why do you live where you live?

3. What is the most interesting thing you’ve done today?

4. If you were to complete a ‘do something every day for one month/three months/one year’ challenge, what would you do?

5. What is your favourite news website?

6. If you had to audition for American idol, what would you sing?

7. What has been your best travel experience?

8. If you had one day to spend in any city, which would it be and what would you do?

9. What do you think is the most over-hyped destination?

10. Final question – pick one of the questions I was asked and give a better answer.

I have nominated the following blogs:

Stepping String

To those who dream, there’s no such place as far away

20 something diaries

Postcards from Italy

Help! I live with my Italian mother-in-law

Unwilling expat

Designing Naked

A Thing for Wor(l)ds

Eggbanana

Ramblings of a late 20-something

 

Should they wish to accept and share the Liebster Award, the rules of play are listed above. Thanks again Anna and Betty!

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. eggbanana says:

    Ooo… We don’t have ten blogs that we follow. In fact, yours is the only one that we do follow. Might need to work on that first; I suppose it’s pretty lame not having any friends.

  2. eggbanana says:

    Update: Because we suck at this and have no friends, we’re going to come up with our own award for anyone who reads our blog – which is also probably less than ten people. Coming soon!

Leave a Reply

