In August

20140813-234001-85201114.jpg

I am back from Austria early, after the rain started and weather forecasts predicted it wouldn’t stop. The family I was with are very active, so the few days we spent marooned inside by the rain were long and torturous for them. I, on the other hand, was happy with the amount of reading I achieved and only would have wished my student a little older, so that we could have played card games more advanced than go-fish. I’m a little lazy that way.

We drove through Italy and arrived in Rovereto with more rain, though it cleared in time for a walk. There was a cool breeze lifting off the river and a low fog hanging over it so it feels like summer is over, before it even began. We’ve apparently had the wettest summer in something like 34 years (similar things were claimed for spring) and there has been so much rain. I don’t think it has had a negative effect on the grape vines, not that I would know. I have a secret mission to pluck a close growing grape or too before picking season starts. I’ve been told both that wine grapes are terrible and that they are delicious, so the only way to know for sure is to taste test one myself.

20140813-233849-85129227.jpg

And lastly, a photo of Matt, because I’m not the only one who has been doing things around here. Matt spent a few days in Guça, Serbia, attending a brass band festival. This is him happy as pie at the first day of the festival having found cevapcici and beer.

Leave a Reply

