The mini-est of London guides

Could there be any more London stereotypes in this photo?
London is ridiculously large. There is no way to you can see everything of interest and do everything fun even if you live there, let alone when you’re only visiting for a few days. Everyone visiting will have a different idea of what will be on a ‘must do’ list, but these are my favourites that I’m looking forward to on my next trip:

Eat cinnamon buns at the Nordic bakery | 14A Golden Square, London W1F 9JG

I love a good cinnamon bun, and the ones from this cafe are amazing. They run out and bake fresh buns throughout the day.

Step into a timewarp at Dennis Severs’ House | 18 Folgate Street, London E1 6BX

This ‘still-life drama’ is a recreation of a house through different time periods. It’s part museum, part junk-shop display that is to be enjoyed as if the house’s owners had just stepped out. Candles burn inside, a cat wanders around and oranges studded with cloves are used to provide a delicious room fragrance.

Do a little market shopping | various

I love browsing markets, and London has so, so many to choose from. Some of my favourites are: the Sunday (Up)Market | Ely’s Yard, Greater London E1 6QL, the Borough Market | 8 Southwark St, London SE1 1TL, and the Columbia Road Flower Market | Columbia Rd, London E2 7RG. Check the website for the days the Borough Market is open, the other two are Sundays only.

Check out the Tate Modern | Bankside, London SE1 9TG

One of my favourite London museums. I also love the gift/book shop downstairs, and tend to spend more time there than I should.

Eat an Indian fusion brunch at Dishoom | Shoreditch and Covent Garden

I have been taken twice to Dishoom, the second trip was for an Indian fusion brunch that I’m still thinking about six months on. Delicious, try it.

And there you have it, a very small London list of things to do. Compiling this little list has got me very excited for my trip to London in October. Bring on Autumn already!

Leave a Reply

