Istanbul

20140602-172134.jpg


I took advantage of a necessary lay over in Istanbul on the way home from here to stay two nights. Just to check it out a little, as Matt also wants to visit Turkey so we will return together for a longer trip**.

Istanbul was amazing, I loved it. There were small carts everywhere selling cheap snacks (fresh orange juice, peeled and sliced apples, corn on the cob and small bread things all 1TL each, amazing), and so many people. The short time frame freed me from all responsibility of seeing all the things – I figured it was so impossible I didn’t even try – so spent much of the time wandering. I visited the Grand Bazaar and spice markets with the other girls before they headed home, and, after completely forgetting the two things I had actually planned to do, spent my final afternoon on İstiklal Avenue and around the area of my hostel checking out the stores and buildings around there.

**Or with Amanda if she comes back to Europe anytime soon..

Leave a Reply

