Buon Natale e Buone feste

Last post for Christmas eve – a giant shooting star from Verona’s Piazza Bra. I made a quick visit there post work on Wednesday specially to check it out. It’s quite large! And quite stunning.

There were also some Christmas markets in the square, where the majority of the stalls were selling fritelle (I’m no longer sure on the spelling), fried sugary doughy doughnuty things, with or without Nutella. I got mine with, of course, and ate it while I waited for the light to change to see the giant star at dusk. My fritella came with the same flavour that all the doughnuts, croissants and pastries that I have tried here have had. I’m not yet sure what the flavour is, but my suspicions so far blame it on the rising agent they use (on a side note, I don’t know where to buy active yeast, so no cinnamon buns for Christmas 😥)

My nutella fritella – not quite a cinnamon bun

One thought on “Buon Natale e Buone feste

Leave a Reply

